Our story

Timeless Paintings is a company inspired by a friendship based on our shared values in trust, generosity and compassion. More like a family than friends, the three of us; a painter, a commercial artist and an art lover, visited the Musée d’Orsay in Paris on an afternoon excursion. While looking at the small selection of family portraits, we realized how many family moments and stories go untold despite their ubiquity and importance to each and every one of us. We agreed that one of the most timeless values for all humanity, if not the most timeless, is family.

storyweb

Just after the visit, the art lover found an old black and white photo of his father as a boy standing with his family in a posed photograph taken just after World War One. Still framed but dusty with neglect and faded with age, the photo captured only a shadow of the personality and vitality of his father, his grandparents and aunts. Now, so many years later with none of them alive, the friend wanted a keepsake to be close to them so he could feel their energy and the security that comes with the union of a family. Knowing that making a group portrait is a painstaking endeavor requiring time, concentration and commitment, he timidly asked his friend the painter if she could commemorate his family with a painted portrait, a work of art more meaningful and lasting than the photo.

familyphotow

Of course she said yes, and six months later he hung the painting in his home where it connects him to his loved ones and he can feel the energy of his roots. His daughter now treasures the painting as much as he does. The portrait plays a real and emotional role in centering their bonds of love and family.

When the commercial artist saw the painting, she cried, “Eureka!”. It perfectly captured so many of their thoughts and emotions from that afternoon visit to the Musée d’Orsay. From this beautiful beginning, the concept of Timeless Paintings was born along with the wish to make it easy and rewarding for any family to have such a treasure.

homew

Notre histoire

Timeless Paintings est une entreprise née d’une amitié reposant sur le partage de valeurs telles que la confiance, la générosité et la solidarité. Si nous sommes devenus une vraie famille, nous sommes à l’origine trois amis: une peintre, une marchande d’art et un amateur d’art ayant visité ensemble le Musée d’Orsay à Paris un après-midi. En y admirant la petite collection de portraits de famille, nous échangions à propos de toutes les histoires et les instants en famille dont on ne parle jamais malgré leur nombre et leur importance pour chacun d’entre nous. Nous étions d’accord pour dire qu’une des valeurs les plus intemporelles, si ce n’est la plus intemporelle, autour de laquelle toute l’humanité se retrouvait, était la famille.

storyweb

Peu après cette visite, notre amoureux des arts mis la main sur une ancienne photographie en noir et blanc de son père petit garçon posant avec sa famille tout juste avant la Première Guerre Mondiale. Toujours encadrée mais poussiéreuse et légérement passée avec les années, cette photo reflétait à peine la personnalité et la vitalité de son père, ses grands-parents et ses tantes. Des années plus tard, et après leur disparition, cet ami désirait un souvenir plus proche de ce qu’ils étaient vraiment afin de ressentir l’énergie et la bienveillance découlant de l’unité de cette famille. Conscient que la réalisation d’un tel portrait était un exercice laborieux demandant du temps, de la concentration et un véritable engagement, il demanda timidement à son amie le peintre si elle pouvait honorer la mémoire de sa famille avec un portrait peint, une oeuvre d’art plus percutante et durable qu’une photo.

familyphotow

Bien sûr elle accepta et six mois plus tard la peinture trônait chez lui, où il pouvait se tourner vers ses proches et ressentir ses racines. Sa fille adore désormais cette peinture autant que lui. Il joue un rôle émotionnel important pour eux et incarne les liens d’amour de leur famille.

Quand la dessinatrice publicitaire découvrit cette peinture, elle cria, “Eureka”. Cela faisait écho aux émotions et aux sentiments qu’elle avait vécus lors de leur après-midi au Musée d’Orsay. S’appuyant sur cette belle histoire, le concept de Timeless Paintings est né avec la volonté de rendre facile et gratifiant l’acquisition d’une telle œuvre d’art à conserver dans une famille.

homew